so say

1 May, 2008

So, last night I got to hang out with Justin, the friend who’s been saving Battlestar Galactica episodes for me on his DVR, and watch the first four, though he fast forwarded through kissing/sex scenes like my 16-year-old brother would. So now I get to throw out some thoughts in no particular order and with no assumption that anything I say is true or will be accurate. I haven’t seen Razor yet or any of last season, though I read the recaps and know what happened.

First of all, it was amazing how many people I didn’t recognize. I didn’t catch Cally among the crew members until I realized when I saw her with Tyrol and their baby that I’d been seeing her all along. Starbuck has a type; I can’t always tell Lee and Sam apart, though I’m getting better. Oh, and space battles still make no sense to me at all.

So who’s the last cylon? My viewing partner thinks it’s Zach Adama, and I’m fairly well convinced. Justin remembers someone in the first season saying that Adama’s a cylon without specifying which one, and I think with all the wacky name symbolism going on it’s plenty likely that the Z. and A. initials are some sort of alpha and omega thing. So yeah, maybe he’s gone into occlusion and is going to ride out of the clouds on earth and lead everyone home. Something’s got to happen, because there seems to be a whole lot of “Paging Mr. Chekhov; there’s a gun over the fireplace” going on every time he’s mentioned this season and he’s mentioned a lot. Plus it lets me stick to my theory that something really weird happens to humans who have sex with cylons. I mean, we all know there’s some kind of plan for a generation of cybrid children, but it seems like non-reproductive sex is where the magic happens. Or else it’s just that wild people are cylon attractors. Kara, Cally, Baltar a million times over, Helo…. I don’t know yet. I still suspect Gaeta of something, though. And he’s just about the only major cast member who’s never had sex with anyone. That’s got to mean something, besides just that I like him.

Oh, and clearly women are evil. The end. Seriously, it doesn’t bother me for some reason, maybe because all the women get to be awesomely crazy and evil. I’ve always had a soft spot for Tory and her hot ruthlessness. Maybe it’s also that I have a lot of sympathy for their crazy self-assurance. I wish I could be evil like they are, unswaying and serious and driven, but I’m not a believer. I’ve had times where I was like Kara in chains, sure that I alone knew the truth ad that the world was falling apart without me, but I also knew I was sick-crazy then and didn’t bother to raise my voice. On another show it might leave me bitter, but here I cut slack because I overidentify. These are all women who’ve been hurt terribly, learned to love in their horribly broken ways, and are now setting out to independently destroy/save the world. Or maybe I should say they’re noble and sick, deluded, so that we can account for Cally’s lovesick devotion and postpartum misery. They’re all beautiful and horrible and awesome and that works for me.

Hey, and while I’m talking demographics, is Baltar’s whole cult white? I saw one woman in one of the last scenes who might have been Asian or Latina maybe, but it seems totally homogeneous otherwise. While race doesn’t seem to have any implications among these humans, it does for viewers and I wonder if we’re headed for something there. I did like his excessive Christ turn, right down to his love-yourself-as-your-neighbor speech at the end. I’m not sure about all the perfection talk either, but it’s great to see him taking his delusions of grandeur in a new direction.

Oh, and the names. I mentioned it a bit already, but I snorted when I found out poor old Cally was Calandra, beautiful man. I had to look up Tory’s name (Tory Foster) and I like it, too, since it’s maybe an overdetermined English name rather than a pseudo-Greeky-Latinish one.

I got plenty of chills and I know we’re headed for the promised land and for doom, but I don’t care. It’s wonderful television. It’s hard to have to just talk into the ether about it instead of talking the way I used to, but things change and some friends become absent friends. And if I’ve become bitter and evil, I’ll just fit right in.

2 Responses to “so say”

  1. Chava Says:

    I don’t know, I think the women are just more well rounded characters than the men rather than being Evil. It’s a nice change since usually men are the ones on the receiving end of character development and the women are cardboard stereotypes. Maybe I’m wrong though. 🙂

    I decided not to try and figure out who the last Cylon is. Sometimes surprises are fun.

  2. Rose Says:

    Okay, you’re right about the women just being more developed. I mean, it’s not as if the men are constantly making responsible ethical decisions that don’t involve killing a lot of people. I guess it is just that it’s more unexpected when it’s a woman.


Leave a Reply

